Summer 2017 Update

Please join us in extending congratulations to the 2017 Milton McPike Memorial Scholarship recipients!  We were honored to once again have Milt McPike, Jr. (Class of '79) join committee member Jill Oelke ('80) on May 3rd to present these awards.


The recipients, as well as their scholarships and colleges, are as follows:


Lamin Ceesay, Edgewood College, Milton McPike Legacy 4-year Scholarship

Cameron Cratic, Madison College, Milton McPike Memorial Scholarship

Adam Putman, UW-Platteville, Milton McPike Memorial Scholarship


                                        (L-R): Adam Putman, Jill Oelke, Cameron Cratic, Milt McPike, Jr. (not pictured: Lamin Ceesay)

                                           The McPike Legacy Scholarship is presented by the Foundation for Madison's Public Schools,

                                                      and the McPike Memorial Scholarships by the Madison Community Foundation.


We were thrilled to meet at East High on Monday, May 15th, and get to know six of our new mentees. Special thanks go out to East High staff members Michelle Olson, Cynthia Chin, and Sherry Barnsley for all their help arranging and hosting this event. 
















(L-R): Nicolas DuPaty, Tony Sturm, Craig Karlen, Erin Hochevar, Kia Karlen, Adam Putman, Lillian Norman, Tenzin Chokyi, Cynthia Chin,

Lamin Ceesay, Hayden Boyce, and Beth O'Callaghan.  Not pictured: Kathern Felton Paige ('81), Nate Warnke ('95) and Cameron Cratic ('17)




Summer 2016 Update

Please join us in congratulating 2016 East High graduate Tenzin Tamdin! Tenzin plans to attend Edgewood College in the fall, and will be receiving the first ever Milton McPike Legacy Scholarship from East High and the Foundation for Madison's Public Schools.  This scholarship will pay $1000 each year for four years, and Tenzin will also join a network of East High volunteer alumni mentors committed to helping him reach college graduation.  




                             Tenzin Tamdin (center), with his mother, Phuntsok Dolma (left), and Troy Dean (right)


We are excited to announce that we have been able to expand our impact by mentoring not one, but seven graduates for the coming years! We are happy to partner with East High to provide alumni mentors to the following scholars:


Tenzin Tamdin -- Milton McPike Legacy Scholarship; Evelyn Fields and Samuel Hernandez -- Milton McPike Memorial Scholarships provided by the Madison Community Foundation; Taya Grahn-Galloway and Lanier Walls -- Marquette Neighborhood Association Scholarships; Clare Johnson -- Louis Swedarsky Memorial Scholarship; and Elizabeth Schneiderman -- Matthew Vidulich Memorial Scholarship.










                              Evelyn Fields (left) and Samuel Hernandez (right) with Milton McPike, Jr. (center)


It was a true honor to have Milton McPike, Jr. ('79) join Troy Dean to help present these scholarships in May. Special thanks go out to our newly-assembled mentoring team as well: Toffer Christensen and Troy Dean ('96), Peter Gentry ('98), Sara Johnson, Craig Karlen, and Beth O'Callaghan ('95), and Kia Karlen ('88). 


Each of these Purgolder alumni has committed the next four years to helping our scholars reach graduation! And none of this would have been possible without the support of East High staff members, especially math teacher Cynthia Chin ('85) and guidance counselor Michelle Olson.











                         (L-R):Sara Johnson, Tenzin Tamdin, Toffer Christensen, Taya Grahn-Galloway, Peter Gentry, Clare Johnson 


This project will continue to grow and build upon the work and generosity of the East High community from the past year, and we would love to have you involved! Thank you so much to all who have donated so far. Please consider donating or volunteering in the future, so that we can do our best to continue Milt McPike's legacy of working to make sure all children succeed.


To learn more about this project, please watch these two videos:


'It's About the Kids', filmed and produced by Marc Kornblatt


'American Journey: Milton McPike' from Wisconsin Public Television

Image courtesy of Casey Niederwerfer